Utilitarian Objects

A couple weeks ago Deb asked  if I could make some nylon scrubbies for her – she said her “source” had dried up.

I’d made some a few years ago, mostly for the guys in the family since the guys are the official dish washers. (Except on Easter when I declared anyone who had helped me with repairs and painting didn’t have to do dishes. Even so, I swear they were looming over their replacement washers, mentally critiquing every move.) The idea of making Scrubbies again really appealed to me because I love the idea of transforming delicate netting into durable objects.

Deb sent me a pattern that was much easier than the one I’d used before. (Sorry, folks, I have no idea where she found it, so I don’t have a link. Maybe we can get Deb to post a link in the comments.)

Basically, you start by cutting nylon netting into 2″ strips.

Then you cut small holes in the ends and loop them together, sort of like slip knots. (It’s easier than it sounds.) You’re basically knotting strips together, but without leaving a a bulky knot. Maybe it will make sense when you see it….

Is it starting to make sense?

The trick is to pull it taut without pulling so hard you tear the netting. If you do tear it, just snip off the damaged end of your strip and start again.

Once you’ve pulled it all the way through, it should look something like this….

With only a half-inch or so of netting sticking out, these knots are a lot neater than a regular double knot would be – and more secure, as well!

I kid you not when I tell you cutting the strips and knotting them together was the most time-consuming part of the project. It was also the messiest. See those tiny flecks? They’re itty bitty bits of nylon from the netting.

A couple yards of netting – enough for four scrubbies – resulted in this ball of “yarn,” so to speak:

From here on out, it’s all a matter of double crochets and single crochets. I used a “J” hook, but even a “K” would have been fine. You work a few rounds of double crochet, adding stitches here and there.

The cool part is when you stop increasing the next round becomes a side, or edge. Before long you’re making decreases on the reverse side! They work up really fast – less than an hour per scrubbie.

These scrubbies are slightly different, front and back. One side is all double crochet, the other is single crochet. The different size stitches offer users a choice of scrubbing oomph.

Once you’ve worked the whole way around, don’t worry about hiding the end of the “yarn” because you tuck it (and some scraps, if you like) right inside the scrubbie for a little extra strength.

Okay Deb, here’s a sneak peak at your new scrubbies:

A                                                                                       B

While most people use scrubbies for, well, scrubbing, I know some people who swear by them as lint removers.

My favorite way to use scrubbies? Cleaning soap scum out of the tub using just a little water, baking soda and the scrubbie. Once you’ve used these scrubbies, you’ll understand why Deb needed a new “source.” They’re real workhorses!

What do you like about your scrubbies?

About Paula Hendrickson

I'm a full-time freelance writer with an addiction to yarn, cooking and all kinds of crafty things. I come from a long line of creative and entrepreneurial types on both sides of the family, making creativity almost like competitive pursuit.

Posted on April 26, 2012, in crochet, scrubbies, utilitarian and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. Thank you Paula for creating my scrubbies…they are hard to live without.
    I found the pattern at: http://www.crochetpatterncentral.com went to their “scrubbie” section and clicked on “Pat’s Crochet Scrubbie” It’s Pat’s pattern that worked so well for Paula. I don’t crochet so I have no clue about the ease of this pattern. I found so many possibilities at the website…that I just starting looking for the right “Picture” of my beloved scrubbies. Since my source was gone and I only had one new scrubbie left…I was in a panic. Yeh for Paula!!!

    • Paula Hendrickson

      Thanks for the link, Deb! I’m sure I’ll have fun checking that site out this weekend.

      I was down to one scrubbie, so now that you sent me such a great, quick pattern I can make some more for myself, too. I’m thinking purple. Maybe aqua.

  2. Paula Hendrickson

    I couldn’t even imagine making 500 scrubbies! Someone at a local women’s health center makes tons of pink scrubbies that they sell for $2/each as a fundraiser for a breast cancer organization. I’ve purchased a few of those over the years. Great scrubbie, great bargain, great cause!

  3. It has been several years since I made some of these, and yes, they like a miracle cleaner. They clean fly spots off of car bumpers, and lots more things..
    But now that I want to make more of them, I don’t remember what was the best material?
    I have been looking it up, and I see both nylon net, and Polyester tulle.
    But which is the strongest and will last the longest?

    And it is odd; the patterns all call for using 2″ strips to crochet with. But at the stores, they sell these only in 3″ strips if you buy the pre-cut.

    At Hobby Lobby, netting sells by the yard at 72″ wide. Tulle sells by the yard at 54″ wide.

    Just please tell me which is the longest wearing?
    Judy

  4. Paula Hendrickson

    Hi Judy. Thanks for the comments!

    I’ve only ever used ones made from nylon netting, and they’re nearly indestructible. Tulle seems more delicate, so I’d have to stick with the nylon netting.

    The friend I made these for gave me a yard or so of nylon netting and I cut it into the strips. If you want to use the 3″ pre-cut strips, try using a larger crochet hook. The scrubbies will be a little larger, but I bought some really nice, larger, puffy ones at a fundraiser and they worked just as well.

Leave a Reply

Roving Crafters

a place to share knitting, crocheting, and spinning adventures

Mika Doyle

A Personal Guide to Professional Career Goals

Permacooking

Delicious ways to reduce food waste

alifemoment

Colourful Good Food & Positive Lifestyle

Lattes & Llamas

we live for wool and bleed espresso

WGN Radio - 720 AM

Chicago's Very Own - Talk, News Radio - Sports, Traffic, Weather, Blackhawks, Northwestern, Listen Live - wgnradio.com

Genevieve Knits

A Blog for Vampire Knits and Once Upon A Knit

The Tommy Westphall Universe

The little boy, the snowglobe and all of television

Grace's Place

Someone in Jersey Loves You

theflexifoodie.wordpress.com/

Delicious plant-based, whole food recipes & my healthy living tips!

All Night Knits

Sleep All Day. Knit All Night.

UK Crochet Patterns

We seriously heart crochet and love to promote patterns in UK terms!

Funky Air Bear

Traditional & Modern Knits

Recording "Guitarrista!"

A topnotch WordPress.com site

Agujas

The Art of Knitting

Simply Flagstaff

A Blog About Getting Back to Basics

Cook Up a Story

Super Foods for Growing Families

The Daily Varnish

The daily musings of two nail polish addicts.

My Crafting Diary

Crafts, Garden, Dog and Cats

Fika and more

Baking, living and all the rest

my sister's pantry

Eat food... real food

made by mike

Just another WordPress.com site

Chilli Marmalade

Adventures inside and outside my kitchen

en quête de saveur

a flavor quest

maggiesonebuttkitchen

Passionate about cooking and baking and love to share.

Doris Chan Crochet

Musings from Doris Chan, crochet designer, author, space cadet

Going Dutch

and loving it

Happiness Stan Lives Here

Notes from Nowhere Near the Edge

Brett Bara

Just another WordPress.com site

Black Bear Journal

Just another WordPress.com site

wordsonpagecom

Just another WordPress.com site

Patons Blog - We've moved!

Patons Fans with Patons Yarns and Patons Patterns

