Why buy produce when you can grow your own?

Moments ago I harvested the first of the mixed baby lettuces and spinach that I sowed back in April. Here it is washed, drained and ready to go – just like the bagged greens at the grocery store, only a lot less expensive:

Okay, so as I was snipping the spinach, for a moment I worried I’d cut the leaves off my radishes by mistake. I didn’t. (Hey, I never claimed to be a gardener!)

Each summer I try to grow a few more things than the year before, but it’s not always easy with a giant black walnut tree in the yard. The shade isn’t the real problem. Juglone is. It’s a toxin produced by black walnut trees that effects a lot of plants. That’s why I’ve relegated my “crops” to containers and two small wedges of soil that get plenty of sun and are away from the black walnut’s canopy.

Last year I mentioned my dilemma to a neighbor who is a prolific gardener. You know, the type who starts his own plants from seed. The other day he called and said he had a tomato variety called Al Kuffa, that does very well in containers. By noon he’d dropped off three seedlings for me.

What a lovely gift!

Stay tuned to see how well the tomatoes do. I might plant one in one of the wedges and two in pots. Or vice versa. I’ll figure that out over the weekend. After that I’ll just have to wait for them to grow and ripen.

What’s your garden growing this year?

About Paula Hendrickson

I'm a full-time freelance writer with an addiction to yarn, cooking and all kinds of crafty things. I come from a long line of creative and entrepreneurial types on both sides of the family, making creativity almost like competitive pursuit.

Posted on May 11, 2012, in food, gardening, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I JUST put in the peas, spinach, and bok choy. I’ve got three varieties of tomatoes coming up, which will be in containers, cucumbers, one pumpkin, zucchini, and eggplants. I always have a lot of herbs in the garden, but rarely grow them from seed. I’ve also got strawberries. I don’t think the cherries and the raspberries will bear fruit this year, but I’m patient enough to make the investment!

    The salad greens are growing like crazy, as are the lettuce. The radishes, which never came up last year, somehow reseeded themselves, so I may have two kinds of radishes this year.

    I love the adventure of it.

    • Paula Hendrickson

      Your garden sounds great, Devon! Last year I planted my peas too late and the summer heat damaged them, so this year I planted them early. Spotted my first blossoms yesterday!

      Have you tried growing cucumbers on a trellis? I’d like to try that this year, if I can find the right spot.

      I had better luck planting basil from seed (in a pot) than I had with dill, parsley or cilantro.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Dawson Dinners

A family of four sharing the planning, execution and enjoyment of the family dinner

Goals, Dreams, and Resolutions

A Place for Plans, Dreams, and Commitment

Roving Crafters

a place to share knitting, crocheting, and spinning adventures

Permacooking

Delicious ways to reduce food waste

alifemoment

Colourful Good Food & Positive Lifestyle

Lattes & Llamas

Home of the Geek-A-Long

WGN Radio 720 - Chicago's Very Own

Live and Local News, Talk, Sports, Traffic, Weather, Business, Blackhawks hockey, Northwestern football and basketball

In Print Writers

Maintaining connections among writing friends

Genevieve Knits

A Blog for Vampire Knits and Once Upon A Knit

The Tommy Westphall Universe

The little boy, the snowglobe and all of television

All Night Knits

Sleep All Day. Knit All Night.

UK Crochet Patterns

We seriously heart crochet and love to promote patterns in UK terms!

Funky Air Bear

Traditional & Modern Knits

Recording "Guitarrista!"

A topnotch WordPress.com site

Agujas

The Art of Knitting

Simply Flagstaff

A Blog About Getting Back to Basics

Cook Up a Story

Inspiration and Recipes for Growing Families

The Daily Varnish

The daily musings of two nail polish addicts.

Fika and more

Baking, living and all the rest

my sister's pantry

Eat food... real food

Chilli Marmalade

Adventures inside and outside my kitchen

maggiesonebuttkitchen

Passionate about cooking and baking and love to share.

Doris Chan Crochet

Musings from Doris Chan, crochet designer, author, space cadet

Happiness Stan Lives Here

Notes from Nowhere Near the Edge

Just another WordPress.com site

Black Bear Journal

Just another WordPress.com site

Words on the Page

Just another WordPress.com site

Patons Blog - We've moved!

Patons Fans with Patons Yarns and Patons Patterns